TMR: Amuro Namie – Just You and I

JNL Team presents: The Monthly Review

May 2017 review.

600px-Just_You_and_I_by_Amuro_Namie_DVD

Album/Single: Just You and I

Artist: Amuro Namie (安室奈美恵)

Review by: Mariëlle

Amuro Namie is a well-known Hip-Hop-Pop artist. She debuted in 1996 as a solo artist, and her first album sold over 3 million copies! On the 31st of May, she released her 45th single: Just You and I. The single was released in a CD-only version and a limited edition with DVD.

The title track was used as the theme song for Haha ni Naru (母になる; to become a mother), which is also known as My Son. The song is very sweet and beautiful. I felt a lot of different emotions when listening to this song. I felt sad at first, but the song is very relaxing, so slowly that sadness faded into something peaceful. Namie’s voice is very beautiful and she really brings out the story and sentiment in this song. In general, I really like it, it’s a great song.

You can watch the short ver. of the MV to Just You and I here:

The second song is called Strike A Pose, and it’s used as the theme for a commercial of Namie’s own contact lenses brand RêVIA. This song is more like what I had expected from Namie. It’s more upbeat and the genre fits her style well. I really like Strike a Pose, it’s a very nice change of pace if you think Just You and I is too slow for your liking, and it’s quite catchy. It’s a fun song to sing and dance along to.

foto van Mariëlle Möllers.

Overall, I think this is a fantastic single. The sweet tunes from Just You and I, and the funky sound of Strike a Pose really complement each other. Normally I think that using such a slow song as Just You and I doesn’t make for a good title track, but Namie proved me wrong. I think she made the right choice here. While Strike A Pose is a good song, I don’t think it would’ve impressed me as much as it does now if it had been the title track.

If you’re interested in buying Amuro Namie’s new single Just You and I, please click the links below:

Regular Edition

Limited Edition

Leave a Reply

